Elk City releases Above the Water LP, first album since 2018

By Adrian Woods, Contributor

[Photo courtesy of NJArts]

New Jersey band Elk City have released their new LP Above The Water on the brand new Magic Door Record Label. This will be the band’s first studio album since 2018’s Everybodys Insecure.

Read more: Quality Control Music shares statement after death of Migos’ member Takeoff

That Someone” was the first single released by Elk City. It explored the nature of self and other, while the track “Your Time Doesn’t Exist” is a very laid back song compared to the other.

The founders of the band are vocalist Renee LoBue and producer and drummer Ray Ketchem, rounded out by Luna guitarist Sean Eden, Feed guitarist Chris Robertson, and Versus bass guitarist Richard Baluyut. This atmospheric pop and psychedelic band has released five albums and three EPs since the group’s creation in 1999. They have the same New Jersey roots as bands like Yo La Tengo, Luna, and The Feelies. “Have you got a problem with that?” is the old New Jersey question the band asks on this album, with elegance and elocution.

Above The Water is now available through streaming services, including Apple Music, Tidal, Qobuz, and Spotify, as well as bandcamp.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s