Big Thief announces 2023 tour dates in US and Europe

By Julia Weber, Features Editor
[Photo courtesy of @bigthief via Instagram]
Big Thief announced an extensive list of upcoming shows in the United States and Europe in 2023. The indie band posted a list of the newest dates in an Instagram post.

Preview: Nelsonville Music Festival Arrives this Weekend, Here’s What to Know

By Grace Koennecke, Columns Editor
[Image courtesy of Nelsonville Music Festival]
This weekend, Nelsonville Music Festival (NMF) is back for its 16th year, presented by Stuart’s Opera House, a non-profit historic theater and performing arts center in Nelsonville, Ohio. In the past, Billboard has said the festival is “one of the best-kept secrets of the U.S. music festival circuit.”

Preview: ACRN Back2School

[Flyer courtesy of Hudson Forman] By Julia Weber, Features Editor As we delve into the beginning of another school year, current and future rock lobsters alike will soon be flocking to The Union for a fantastic night of live performances from local bands and musicians. ACRN’s first event of the coming academic year is certainly…

Movie Review: Thor: Love and Thunder

By: Ethan Bloomfield, Reviews Editor[Walt Disney Studios Motion Picture; 2022]Rating: 1/10 Phase four of Marvel’s Cinematic Universe is underway, the latest collection in the over ten year-long experiment into blockbuster comic book cinema. Among these million dollar titles was Thor: Love and Thunder, the fourth Thor movie in the franchise which released last month to…

Album Review: Drake – Honestly, Nevermind

By Adrian Woods, Contributor [OVO, Republic; 2022] Rating: 1/10 Key tracks: “Jimmy Cooks” On June 16th, Drake announced a surprise seventh studio album, Honestly, Nevermind. It would be dropping at midnight, only nine months after his last release, Certified Lover Boy, and if you’re reading this, it might be too late for Drake to make…

ACRN: Favorite Breakup Songs

Night Shift by Lucy Dacus One of my favorite breakup songs is “Night Shift,” the leading track on Historian by indie musician Lucy Dacus. “You got a 9 to 5, so I’ll take the night shift / And I’ll never see you again if I can help it”, is the gut-wrenching feeling of uprooting every…

Q&A: Coastal Club

[Photo credit to Julia Weber] By Sophia Hoffman, Promotions Director Coastal Club is an indie surf rock band based out of Cincinnati, Ohio. Formed in 2017, the group consists of Alex Mobley, Avery Benter, Alex Hirlinger and David McGuire. The self proclaimed “Queen City Quartet” headlined for the 2022 Lobsterfest season. Amidst sound checks, decorating,…

Album Review: Charli XCX – CRASH

By: Ethan Hofer, Staff Writer [Asylum Records UK/Warner Music UK Limited; 2022] Rating: 8/10 Key Tracks: “Crash,” “Lightning,” “Twice” After rising to popularity after 2014’s hit single “Boom Clap” from the Fault in Our Stars soundtrack and “Fancy” with Iggy Azalea, Charli XCX has maintained a huge amount of mainstream success since. CRASH serves as…